Skip to main content

Pacific Preparedness Quarterly update, April - June 2019

+ 11 more
Logistics Cluster
+ 1 more
Publication date
View original


• The first Logistics Preparedness Workshop and Pacific Logistics Mapping (PALM) platform training was undertaken in Papua New Guinea (PNG). The workshop is one of the first activities to be implemented in the region following the completion of the WFP Pacific interim Multi-Country Strategic Plan (2019-2021).

• Development of Preparedness Roadmap for Emergency Logistics (PRELog) and National Action Plans in Kiribati, Samoa,
Tonga and Vanuatu.

• Development of the public facing website (conceptualised as part of the Pacific Unsolicited Bilateral Donation (UBD) project) continues to gain momentum, with support from key regional partners.


The Pacific is one of the world’s most vulnerable regions to risks posed by natural disasters. Of the 20 states with the highest average disaster losses scaled by GDP, eight are Pacific Island Countries (PICs). In September 2015, WFP opened its first office in the Pacific region, leading the regional Pacific Logistics Cluster, and supporting preparedness initiatives across an initial five priority countries: Fiji, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Vanuatu.
Following two years of preparedness activities, last year the Pacific Logistics Cluster realigned its 2018-2020 strategy to further emphasise localisation. Recognising the varied profiles, and unique challenges and operational capacities of each PIC, the cluster moved its focus to implement activities and preparedness advocacy initiatives through a sub-regional approach. Moreover, the revised strategy also saw a consolidation of the cluster’s initial seven areas of focus into four core logistics pillars: Coordination, Information Management, Prepositioning and Training & Simulation. Preparedness activities are currently taking place across the following countries: Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Palau, PNG, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.