Saltar al contenido principal

Kenya: Cash Programming Fact Sheet - Targeted Counties: Garissa, Mandera, Samburu, Tana River, Wajir, Isiolo and Turkana, August 2018

+ 3
Fecha de publicación
Ver original

Project Context

In January 2017, the Government of Kenya declared drought a national disaster with over 5.6 million households classified as food insecure. The drought had eroded local coping mechanisms where households displayed poor dietary diversity and food consumption scores. In response, this action funded by EU Humanitarian Aid (ECHO) and implemented by Kenya Red Cross Society (KCRS), Humanity and Inclusion (HI) and ACTED aimed at providing an integrated lifesaving humanitarian response for 7 counties namely: Turkana, Isiolo, Tana River, Garisa, Wajir, Samburu and Mandera, In total the action supported 27,336 households through unconditional cash transfers valued at Ksh. 3,000 using a mobile based platform and vendors where mobile connectivity was a challenge.