Skip to main content

ACAPS Country Profile: Dominica, October 2017

Publication date
View original

The Commonwealth of Dominica is a sovereign island country, part of the Windward Islands in the Lesser Antilles archipelago in the Caribbean Sea. The island lies - southeast of Guadeloupe and northwest of Martinique. Its area is 750km2, and the highest point is Morne Diablotins. The island’s vegetation is dense, a consequence of its elevation and very high rainfall, which varies from about 1800mm per year on the western coast to over 7,500mm in the mountainous interior. Dominica is a lower middle-income country and the poorest of the southeastern Caribbean islands.