Aller au contenu principal

El Salvador: Earthquake - May 2018

Types de catastrophes
Tremblement de terre

The Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources reported a seismic swarm in the area located between the municipalities of Chirilagua in San Miguel Department, and in Intipucá and El Carmen department in La Union Department since 5 May 2018. Some 733 seismic events occurred between 5 and 9 May, as reported by the National Seismic Network. The epicentre area was located between the municipalities mentioned above. Ninety-five of these earthquakes, whose magnitude range between 2.4 and 5.6, were felt by the population. The strongest of these earthquakes (magnitude 5.6 and intensity VII) was recorded on 6 May at 1:02 p.m. in Chirilagua and Intipucá. It caused severe damage to homes made of mud, adobe, or wattle and daub. (IFRC, 18 May 2018)

As part of the response and support process that has been provided to those affected by the seismic swarm that occurred since May 5, authorities from different State institutions presented a housing model that will be built for 150 affected families in the Intipucá municipalities. Tierra Blanca and El Carmen, in the eastern part of the country. (Gov't of El Salvador, 5 Jun 2018)