Aller au contenu principal

Tanzania: Floods - Apr 2018

Types de catastrophes

Heavy rainfall occurred in different parts of Tanzania mainland and Zanzibar from 12 to 18 April 2018, causing floods. The flood affected regions include Dar es Salaam (Kinondoni, Ilala, Temeke and Kigamboni Municipals); Arusha (Arusha District Council, Meru, Longido, Monduli districts); Zanzibar; Kilimanjaro (Same, Hai, Mwanga districts); Tanga (Handeni, Lushoto districts); Manyara (Simanjiro, Kiteto, Babati districts); Tabora (Nzega and Kaliua districts); Pwani (Mafia and Rufiji districts); Mwanza, Morogoro, Dodoma, Mbeya, Rukwa, Mtwara, Shinyanga, and Geita...In Arusha a total of 548 households have been displaced due to the floods and 203 houses are damaged. In Dar es Salaam, some 2,151 households are displaced, 42 houses and 21 latrines completely collapsed and 342 houses severely damaged (DARMAERT & TRCS assessment, 2018). In the island of Zanzibar, 191 households have been displaced and 225 houses damaged. As a result of this, the majority of flood victims sought refuge with relatives and neighbours while 19 households did not relocate and continue living in houses full of water which is a big health risk. It should be noted that the rescue and evacuation of families is carrying on in Arusha due to the continuous heavy downpour. (IFRC, 30 Apr 2018)