Перейти к основному содержанию

Tropical Cyclone Franklin - Aug 2017

Прошлые происшествия
+ 3
Типы бедствий
Тропический циклон

Tropical Storm Franklin hit at 22:45 local time on Monday 7 August (03:45 GMT Tuesday) near the town of Pulticub, in the south-eastern Mexican state of Quintana Roo, on the Yucatan Peninsula, according to the National Weather Service of Mexico (SMN for its Spanish acronym).

On Tuesday 8 August, the Government issued an Early Warning through the Early Warning System Portal (SIAT for its Spanish acronym). The centre of the storm hit land with maximum sustained winds of 95 kilometres per hour, according to the SMN report issued at 01:15 local time (06:15 GMT) on Tuesday. At midnight, the centre of the tropical storm was located approximately 25 kilometres south of Punta Herrero, 105 kilometres northeast of Chetumal, and 125 kilometres south of Tulum, all of Quintana Roo's populations.

The system moved through the Gulf of Mexico and become a Category 1 hurricane. The SMN, in coordination with the National Hurricane Center of the United States, maintained a hurricane monitoring zone from the coasts of Veracruz to Río Panuco, Veracruz state, as the rains continue until Friday, 11 August. (IFRC, 9 Aug 2017)

On 10 August Franklin was downgraded to tropical storm but heavy rains are expected in most of the Mexican territory including San Luis Potosí, Querétaro, Hidalgo, Puebla, Veracruz, Guerrero, Michoacán and Colima, Tlaxcala, Estado de México, Guanajuato, Jalisco y Nayarit, Tabasco, Chiapas, Oaxaca, Morelos, Mexico City, Aguascalientes, Zacatecas and the south of Durango y Sinaloa; (Gov't of Mexico, 10 Aug 2017) later on, The National Coordinator of Civil Protection led the Liaison and Coordination Mission (ECO) in the state of Puebla, where 24 temporary shelters were activated, with a total of 1,562 people. (Gov't of Mexico, 10 Aug 2017)
On 14 August 2017, The Ministry of Interior declared state of emergency for 66 municipalities of the Sate of Puebla (Gov't of Mexico, 14 Aug 2017)